The Cold Call Interrupt


I know how this is going to end. I’m going to have to say, “I’m not really interested today”, “I’m not interested, thanks” and then “I’m going to end this conversation”. But the mystery caller keeps on going, getting more accusatory, “Don’t you want to save money?” and hangs on like an annoying small dog. But I do know how it’s going to end. Eventually he’ll realise (it’s always a ‘he’) that the game is up and then he’ll turn nasty. Occasionally they’ve actually sworn at me.

I’m open to sales calls. I should be since I also have to make them. Sometimes someone phones with something I do want at that moment, but not often. Usually I do business with people I know and trust or who’ve been recommended so that’s not likely to be some random caller. Especially one who pretends he’s not what he seems like those alluding to be my mobile phone or land-line provider and try to trick me into signing up for some other deal with them. Dishonesty is annoying. But the concept that is the real irritant is the belief that the interrupt is going to be welcomed. I’m busy doing something, not waiting for the phone to ring. Being polite, I always give the benefit of the doubt, but when it’s clear I don’t want whatever it is, go away.

I pity the people who do the calls, it’s not easy. They must have been trained to ‘not take no for an answer’ with a brutal hunter verses quarry attitude. I wish instead they were trained to be polite.

For more see:
www.aydinstone.com
www.sunmakers.co.uk

One comment on “The Cold Call Interrupt

  1. Ayd

    As you know, I blog most weeks about all aspects of cold-calling. Like you, I get angry with those so-called telemarketers who are over-aggressive. They clearly need to have proper training but even then, a professional sales exec. using a carefully crafted pitch will conclude that 80% of all sales activity will end up gong nowhere. It’s the nature of the beast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

