My New Website: Part 2 – Website fashions


The new Doctor Who website impressed me. In many ways I found it refreshing and groundbreaking. The main reason, and the idea that I’d become besotted with implementing on my own site was this: it should no longer looked like a website. It should look more like a magazine.

BBC doctor who website

There are fashions in website of course, as there are in anything. Just a few years ago the trend was to have two or three columns of text, full of hot links to various pages. The classic and perfect version of this is the BBC news website. A great many new websites today are built with the pre-fab templates provided by sites such as WordPress. They follow this approach of blocks of text and navigation.

I watched with interest how the BBC would handle the re-branded television programme Doctor Who in March this year. That brand makes almost as much money from sales of the programme abroad and merchandise of every description as the rest of the BBCs output put together. They couldn’t afford to mess it up. The same was true of the new Doctor Who website.

It didn’t disappoint. Apart from the obvious changes of the new logo and the corporate colour changing from orange to blue, the changes on the website were actually quite dramatic. It ceased to follow the common ‘blocks of text’ format and instead used blocks of images and video. Here was something that you could take in at a glance and navigate without having to read much text until you were where you wanted to be. I loved that idea.

My own website revamp was long overdue. How did I know? Some key trusted individuals had pointed out that what I do onstage, how I behave in person and the essence of who I am is clear and strong. That part of my branding was good. But when they saw my website (the structure of which was now three years old) was underwhelming. The excitement and uniqueness just wasn’t present. That’s not to say there was anything wrong with it. And that’s the point. It was, ok. It was ‘good enough’. It ‘did the job’. But it wasn’t me. I’d moved on and left it behind. Something had to be done. Fast.

Find out what here.

For more see:
www.aydinstone.com
www.sunmakers.co.uk

5 comments on “My New Website: Part 2 – Website fashions

    • Without extensive field testing it’s hard to work out the intricacies of whether a design appeals more to men or women. It’s not as clear cut as you think. Once you remove obvious clichés and subject matter that may appeal to one gender or another, good design is almost genderless. Magazine design for men and women follows the same design rules. The content is different, not the design or layout. As a speaker, many of my ‘bookers’ are female. I have to hope that my material appeals to them in a way that they then recognise it appeals to their audiences who they are booking for, who may be more male or more female. For me, it’s best to have a design that represents who I am. People can then judge whether that appeals to them or not.

      Like

  1. Pingback: My New Website: Part 1 – How often should you revamp your website? « Ding!

  2. I agree the website looks awesome….

    This may not be the right place to ask, but i’ve just started a new driving school in birmingham and considering you’re prodicing a fashion website thought i’d ask on the off chance. Do you have any knowlege of SEO or how i would go about getting a decent page ranking on google…. if i’m on the wrong page, would it be possible for you to send me a link to the correct one.

    Many thanks for any help you can provide

    Martin

    Like

Leave a Reply

